I admit I have all sorts of authority issues, though perhaps not in the usual way. Whereas most people tend to reject authority (especially ecclesiastical authority), for the last year or so I’ve been increasingly attracted to it, at least within a certain apostolic context.

That means that I’ve had to address the issue of the Papacy, and all that follows from its current dogmatic definitions.

But here’s the question I have for [Roman] Catholics: If the Orthodox claim that the Church as a whole is protected by a charism of infallibility (something the RCC affirms), then why does the Church need a universal, infallible bishop of final appeal in matters of faith and morals? It seems like the office is redundant if the Church already has a special protection via the Holy Spirit.

